The Lion King: My First Musical Experience

I have always been fascinated with musicals. I watched Phantom of the Opera on film, and I fell in love with the costumes and the way the curtain fell on the stage. I watched The Sound of Music, Les Miserables, and many other musicals, but they were all in film. I dreamed one day of watching a live show, but living in the province seemed to render my dream to be far-fetched.

A few years forward, I am now working in Metro Manila, and one hot afternoon in May, Globe texted me an offer of 25% discount on tickets to The Lion King. The price should have been practically out of my budget, but because I just received my mid-year bonus and sumuweldo po ako sa paluwagan, I said, “Why not?” I checked online, and the available seats are in the orchestra, at the middle. It would be a perfect spot for my first musical experience. After contemplating for a few minutes, I just found myself printing the confirmation that I was indeed already booked for last Friday’s 8:00 PM show.

 

It was my first time to watch a musical. Surely, I saw a few posts from online friends who have already seen the show. They gave me a hint on what to wear and what to do. The musical was staged at Solaire Theater. It was also my first time to go there. I was alone. It would have been better if I had someone with me, but being the solitary discoverer that I am, I was determined to experience the musical by myself. I went to work early and left early so that I could prepare and be early at the theater. I live in Quezon City and Solaire is in Pasay City near Mall of Asia. That means an hour or more of traffic even if I booked Grab. Luckily, I arrived at 6:45 PM and waited until we were permitted to enter at 7:30 PM.

IMG_6462

I was seated at the spot where I’d imagine I would be: not too far from the stage, but not too close for my eyes to hurt. I guess that is why it has that price. As everyone prepares for the show, I saw some celebrities with their families. There were also a lot of children. It was nice to note that families have come together to enjoy the night.

IMG_6466

When the lights were dimmed and the show was about to start, I tried to remember all the name of the characters from the animated film. Sure enough, when the music started and “The Circle of Life” opened the First Act, I saw Rafiki dancing and singing and mumbling gibberish. I can’t help but smile for the wonderful song and the amazing costumes. One by one, they graced the stage: giraffes, lions, cheetahs, birds, and antelopes. When I turned my head, I saw elephants emerging from behind, then rhinoceroses, and more birds. The opening was so magical that I can’t help but grin and point at many different things that amaze me. Mufasa and Sarabi rose at the moving platform, carrying Baby Simba. Then, after Rafiki held Baby Simba up, the lights went out and all I could hear was the thundering applause from the audience. I think nobody clapped harder than me because just as the scene was changing, I could feel that my palms hurt.

The next scenes were just as amazing as the first. Colors burst from everywhere. The actor’s voices were as powerful as the production. The story was just simple and subtle, but it brought back a rush of memories from my childhood. I remember how I and my cousins huddle together in front of the TV to watch The Lion King on DVD. I remembered the lines and the puns. I cried when Mufasa died. I laughed at Timon and Pumba. I swooned and crooned over Simba and Nala. I love every detail in the costume and the props. The whole ensemble was spectacular!

When it was over, I just felt joy and happiness. It was as if I were a child again, watching the story for the first time. Simba would always be a part of my life, and now that I am older, I have been reminded again that life is beautiful, that things will get better, that if things become difficult, all I have to sing is “Hakuna Matata.”

IMG_6463

Because of this experience, I learned that theater will always interest me. There is an intricacy in the way they prepare and perform, and it I know that I will always have respect for the performers, the production staff and all those who are part of such an amazing show just like The Lion King.

1 Comment

  1. I am going to see Lion King in September.

    I have always seen musicals live along with movie musicals. I saw the live production of Lion King when I was a child but don’t remember seeing it. That is why I really wanted to see it gain. I am so excited about seeing Lion King in September.

    Like

Leave a comment